Trio of NOJHL clubs crack CJHL Top 20 Rankings; 4th gets Honourable Mention

CALGARY, Alta. – Another week at No. 1 in the Canadian Junior Hockey League Top 20 rankings has been bestowed upon the Sherwood Park Crusaders (AJHL).

The latest listings released Monday, which are compiled each week by an independent scouting source, sees Sherwood Park boasting a CJHL-best .849 winning percentage along with an overall record of 45-8-0.

Moving up to No. 2 nationally, you have the Summerside Western Capitals (MHL). The Western Capitals are playing .848 hockey and have gone 38-6-0-2 in the Maritimes this season.

Tabbed at No. 3 are the Coquitlam Express (BCHL) as they top the table among the 17 clubs in British Columbia with a 45-8-1-1 mark.

Slotted No. 4 in the 131-team CJHL this week are the 44-7-4 Okotoks Oilers (AJHL).

Meanwhile, the Battlefords North Stars (SJHL) come in at No. 5, having gone 44-9-2-0 to date.

Wrapping up the Top 10 this week, you have the Brooks Bandits (AJHL) in sixth, the Powassan Voodoos (NOJHL) seventh, the Carleton Place Canadians (CCHL) in eighth while the Wellington Dukes (OJHL) move to ninth and Braves de Valleyfield (LHJAAAQ) come it at No. 10.

2019-20 CJHL Top 20 Rankings (As of Feb. 17)
1. Sherwood Park Crusaders (AJHL) (1)
2. Summerside Western Capitals (MHL) (3)
3. Coquitlam Express (BCHL) (4)
4. Okotoks Oilers (AJHL) (2)
5. Battlefords North Stars (SJHL) (5)
6. Brooks Bandits (AJHL) (6)
7. Powassan Voodoos (NOJHL) (7)
8. Carleton Place Canadians (CCHL) (8)
9. Wellington Dukes (OJHL) (11)
10. Braves de Valleyfield (LHJAAAQ) (9)
11. Oakville Blades (OJHL) (10)
12. Timmins Rock (NOJHL) (13)
13. Collège Français de Longueuil (LHJAAAQ) (12)
14. Steinbach Pistons (MJHL) (16)
15. Trenton Golden Hawks (OJHL) (15)
16. Penticton Vees (BCHL) (14)
17. Rayside-Balfour Canadians (NOJHL) (HM)
18. Toronto Jr. Canadiens (OJHL) (17)
19. Spruce Grove Saints (AJHL) (HM)
20. Thunder Bay North Stars (SIJHL) (20)

HONOURABLE MENTION: Portage Terriers (MJHL); Blind River Beavers (NOJHL); Brockville Braves (CCHL); Titan de Princeville (LHJAAAQ); Edmundston Blizzard (MHL)

Photo credit: Michael P. Hall/CJHL Images