CJHL announces executive committee for 2017-18

CALGARY, Alta. – The Canadian Junior Hockey League (CJHL) announced Tuesday the names of those who will serve on its executive committee for the 2017-18 season for the 10-member Jr. A leagues and its 132 teams from across the country and parts of the northern U.S.

Kevin Abrams (CCHL) has been appointed CJHL Chairman of the Board while Kim Davis (MJHL) and Marty Savoy (OJHL) will serve as Vice-Chairs.

Rounding out the CJHL executive committee will be Bill Chow (SJHL) as treasurer.

Remaining in his position as CJHL President is Brent Ladds.

Now in his 12th season as commissioner of the CCHL, Abrams boasts over 30 years of involvement in Junior A hockey as a coach, general manager, and owner as well as in an administrative position within the CCHL.

During his tenure there, the league has grown from 10 to 12 franchises, which is an all-time high.

He has continued to see the CCHL serve as a development ground both off the ice as well as for future NCAA and CHL players.

“I am greatly honoured to be representing the CJHL as its Chairman of the Board,” offered Abrams in a statement.

“The 10 leagues that make up the CJHL are each led by extremely qualified and capable Commissioners and Presidents and to have their support as colleagues is a humbling and gratifying opportunity,” added Abrams.

“I look forward to working closely with CJHL President Brent Ladds as we continue to advance the cause of Junior A hockey across Canada.”

2017-18 CJHL Executive Committee

Chairman of the Board
Kevin Abrams (CCHL)

Kim Davis (MJHL)
Marty Savoy (OJHL)

Bill Chow (SJHL)

CJHL Member League Representatives
Brian Whitehead, President (MHL)
Jacques Laporte, Commissioner (LHJAAAQ)
Kevin Abrams, Commissioner (CCHL)
Marty Savoy, Commissioner (OJHL)
Robert Mazzuca, Commissioner (NOJHL)
Bryan Graham, Commissioner (SIJHL)
Kim Davis, Commissioner (MJHL)
Bill Chow, Commissioner (SJHL)
Ryan Bartoshyk, Commissioner (AJHL)
John Grisdale, Commissioner (BCHL)